Co2 reading of -3 constantly

hi all! just set up the DIY Basic kit last night and the co2 sensor only returns -3. looking at AirGradient::getCO2_Raw() in the code, seems the d2 mini is timing out when waiting for a response from the co2 sensor. any ideas how to fix?

i will check all my solder joints later. i’m new to electronics so i was wondering if this could be related to the fact that i accidentally pulled some header pins out of the plastic casing and just stuck them back in while i was resoldering them to the d2 mini (i mistakenly soldered the entire thing upside-down at first).

thanks in advance!

I was able to fix this eventually by simply changing the command in AirGradient::getCO2_Raw() to the example from https://www.driesen-kern.de/downloads/ba-senseair-s8-modbus.pdf (“CO2 read sequence”) and setting the baud rate to 9600.

It’s interesting that I ran across this, I had during one reading (and one only) the co2 level be read as -3 too. I have a nice sensible graph over the past 12 hours except for a single dip to -3 (and one weird upward spike, but that wasn’t such a huge spike). I wonder what the underlying cause of this is

Mine used to work fine, but last several days constantly showing -3 :frowning:

I’ve also noticed occasional -3 readings. Seems like not a reading, but some error value. I’ve put in a quick piece of code to toggle IO16 (D0 pin) whenever that CO2 value comes back -3. I’ll use that to trigger a scope and see what’s on the UART at the time.

Interim Update: After collecting data for a few hours, I think I see exactly what’s happening. TL;DR at the end.

I was working on a few leads in parallel. I have a scope connected to the Tx and Rx lines, as well as modified code to toggle IO16 (D0 pin) whenever that CO2 value comes back -3. I’m also logging the serial monitor output to a file with PuTTY. Below is a breakdown as I worked through each of these leads mostly in parallel.

"CO2:-3" = Timeout