Airgradient One v9 configuration with Homeassistant for first time ESPhome user

I’ve been using Homeassistant for some time, but this is my first time trying to integrate something via ESP32. I’m having a hard time getting things going. The unit works fine on the default firmware through the Airgradient cloud.

I’ve downloaded the latest airgradient-one.bin from malloacarray’s github and flashed it via https://web.esphome.io/.

I’m uncertain where I’m supposed to install the yaml config file. Trying to add the ESPhome integration in Homeassistant isn’t possible until the unit has an IP address, and without knowing where to put the yaml config file I don’t believe I can get the unit on the WiFi network.

Any help is appreciated. It seems like the docs here and on github are written for someone who has used ESPhome before so I’m a little behind the curve.

TIA!

Disclaimer: not a pro at HA. Just another user.

First things first, have you installed the ESPHome addon on Home Assistant? If not, you can follow this process here: Getting Started with ESPHome and Home Assistant — ESPHome

Once you get access to the dashboard interface, you then add a new device. This is where the YAML config will be used. You’ll also need to setup your secrets (wifi name and password). Take note of the encryption key (and don’t overwrite that part in the YAML config).

Once saved, you can start the installation process. Click Install, then you’ll have a bunch of options to install the firmware (either have it plugged in to your computer or to the server running HA and ESPHome). Choose whatever suits your setup.

Once installed, assuming you set it up correctly, it should show up in your Wifi and the device should show as Online. This device should then show up under HA>Settings>Devices>Discovered. Configure it, then sensor data should be available in HA.