PMS5003 Sensor cable on PCB 4.2

I’m using the unsoldered version of the pro kit. I found the instructions online not clear of how I should install the PM sensor cable onto the PCB 4.2. (I’m a beginner). Please show me how to do this. Thanks!

One end of the cable has two parts, you solder the female connector part to the PCB, and can plug in the other part after it’s on. It’s very small so you might need something thin to help you separate.

it says in the instructions a cross-over cable is required for a PBC 4.2, what does that mean and should I just ignore it and do what you said?

I’m not seeing mention of a cross-over cable.

Do you mean this section?

Connecting The PMS5003 (PMS Sensor) Cable

The PMS Sensor is connected with a cable to the PCB. There are two ways to connect it. If you can solder the small JST connector, then solder it on the board:

If you’re able to solder the connector part from the cable, I would do that. The next section is only if you prefer to solder the cable directly to the board.

Connecting The PMS5003 (PMS Sensor) Cable

The PMS Sensor is connected with a cable to the PCB.

Please note that from PCB Version 4.2 a smaller cross-over cable is required. The red-black cable often coming with the PMS sensor is not a cross-over cable and it will not work with the JST plug. In case you have the wrong cable, you can splice it and solder it into the through holes provided (see below).

There are two ways to connect it. If you can solder the small JST connector, then solder it on the board:

I think my cable matches what was in the photo, which I assumed to be the newer cable, and I just soldered the JST connector as directed.